2nd Foundation Music

2FM034 Drama & Raga

Posted on May 14, 2018

2FM034 Drama and Raga is a unique blend of Western string orchestra with Indian Classical soloists and driving percussion. Written by Tanuj Tiku, co-writer of 2FM022 Cinematic Promos, this album takes us on a thrilling journey through the dramatic and exciting soundscapes of India. From reflective intimacy (“Tender Blossoming”) to dark determination (“Driving Force”), tracks build with grace, mystery and majesty. Each track features semi-improvised melodies played by Indian Classical virtuoso players on traditional instruments, from the delicate bansuri to the eerie sarangi (“Serene Haze”), majestic sitar (“Resplendent Energy”) to the emotional shenai (“Emotional Endeavour”). Recordings took place in Mumbai, and strings were recorded in Budapest. The music on this album will suit any picture that needs an Indian or mystical feel, including advertising, sports, fantasy, film, trailers, documentaries, and drama. A range of versions is available, including light underscores and standalone dramatic strings. Each track has 60-, 30- and 10-second cut-downs, and all music is available in stems for the perfectly tailored cue.

Track Listing

  1. Resplendent Energy
  2. Driving Force
  3. Animated Momentum
  4. Aspiring Hope
  5. Emotional Endeavour
  6. Serene Haze
  7. Edge of Peril
  8. Tense Determination
  9. Shimmering Agitation
  10. Dramatic Foreboding
  11. Restless Foreboding
  12. Reflective Splendour
  13. Unfolding Majesty
  14. Tender Blossoming
  15. Euphoric Celebration


Tanuj Tiku Composer
Daryl Griffith String Arrangements
Daryl Griffith Conductor
Ashwin Srinivasan (Bansuri), Sabir Khan (Sarangi), Nilesh Parab (Percussion), Sunil Das (Sitar), Omkar Dhumal (Shehnai), Budapest Film Orchestra Session Musicians
Lőkös Csaba & Lőkös Kinga Orchestral Contractors
Kenneth Basumatari, Shantanu Hudlikar, Manasi Tare, Kurina Tamás Recording Engineers
Gerry O’Riordan Mix Engineer
Tanuj Tiku & Wes Hicks Session Producers
Wes Hicks Audio Editor
Gregory Heath Mastering Engineer
Dan Bullock Album Artwork

Recorded at YRF Studios, Mumbai & Studio D, Tom-Tom Studios, Budapest